Mobile JavaScript Summit

Mobile JavaScript SummitAs I write this I’m attending the Mobile JavaScript Summit and unfortunately I can’t give it the glowing recommendation that I gave CSS Summit 2011. While I left CSS Summit 2011 feeling educated I can’t say I feel as such with Mobile JavaScript Summit. Unfortunately, it felt more like the majority of the speakers were pimping their particular product. I understand that they need to do so but I really expected to see some good coding.

Who was Informative

Josh Clark provided some very good information about The New Rules of Designing for Touch.

Steven Gill moderately pimped PhoneGap but he did it in an informative and useful way – and he was entertaining.

Marc Grabanski really showed some of the power of jQuery Mobile. I thought he did an excellent job of giving voice to the wonderful things jQuery Mobile can do.

This is just my observation but it seemed that there was a lot of down playing of jQuery Mobile. It’s really to bad because out of all the offerings it is the only one that I saw that was capable of graceful degradation across multiple browsers and multiple platforms.

Don’t take my word for it though, one of the products might be the right one for what you’re trying to do. Check out the site here.

Leave a Reply

