Not So Simple Choices

Bells and whistle, sparkles and glitter, fancy shmancy, what do all these have in common? They are usually beating the proverbial dead horse. Give the poor thing a break and take off the dark glasses you’re wearing because your latest creation’s future is so bright you’ve got to wear shades. Remember to K.I.S.S. simple Simon.

I’m sure there’s many versions of the K.I.S.S. acronym out there and here’s mine, Keep Stuffs Simple. Remember Simple Simon?

Simple Simon met a pieman going to the fair;
Said Simple Simon to the pieman “Let me taste your ware”
Said the pieman to Simple Simon “Show me first your penny”
Said Simple Simon to the pieman “Sir, I have not any!”

Simple Simon went a-fishing for to catch a whale;
All the water he had got was in his mother’s pail.
Simple Simon went to look if plums grew on a thistle;
He pricked his fingers very much which made poor Simon whistle.
He went for water in a sieve but soon it all fell through;
And now poor Simple Simon bids you all “Adieu”

Sure, whatever we design makes perfect sense to us but what about poor Simon? That poor boy just isn’t going to cut it. Tell him to click his mouse and he’s liable to start looking for holes in the wall listening for squeaking. Let’s face it though, there’s been times we’ve all been Simon and would of liked the designer of whatever we’re looking at to of thought about us.

I know you can’t think of every way that everyone is going to use your design; but, you can design simple. Simple doesn’t mean ugly. Simple doesn’t mean devoid of awe inspiring layout. It does mean that you’ve not thrown so many bells and whistles and all that jazz on whatever you’re design that the design gets lost in tricked out product.

If the design seems really difficult to make chances are it’ll be really difficult to use by everyone but you. So remember to K.I.S.S. Simple Simon. Keep Stuffs Simple.

Ya you probably noticed that I left out the “I” in K.I.S.S. I left it out on purpose because I thought it’d make it simpler.

O.K. you caught me, I actually couldn’t think of something witty for the “I”.

Got something witty to go with my Keep Stuffs Simple version?

Leave a Reply

